Silent Inspection

From Studentnet Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Silent Inspection

Silent Inspection is a feature that allows an administrator full control of a user's account.

Silent Inspection can also allow an administrator to set up a one-time password for a user to log in with if a user forgets their password.

This is done through an administrator creating a one-time password for that user's account.

The password set via Silent Inspection will be valid for one use or for 1 hour (configurable) whichever comes first.

The one-time password will not affect the user's current password.

This feature is not on by default and needs to be specifically requested to be activated.

Who can use silent inspection

The use of silent inspection can be restricted based on roles that are given to an administrator. An unlimited number of different roles can be created in the Cloudwork dashboard in Admin Role. To create a new admin role which has the permission to use Silent inspection follow these instructions and check Can use Silent Inspection. After creating a new role, the appropriate administrators need to be assigned to the role which is done following these instructions. The only role that will always have access to silent inspection is the Super Admin role. This is due to Super Admin being a special role similar to root user in a Unix system.

Notification when a user uses Silent Inspection

When an administrator with the permission to use Silent Inspection uses the feature, this will be logged in Reports>Adminstrators Report. In the Administrators Reports, the information logged will tell which administrator has used Silent Inspection and which user has been silently inspected.